Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Week in Review

Saturday, May. 10, 2003
5:30 PM

Been a busy week or two. I've gotten back in my workshop this week, so that's good. Got a few new commissions (yay!) so I foresee another couple of busy weeks. But I'm totally OK with that.

I know pretty much everybody's already done the Crown review, but I haven't so here's mine. Kev and I drove down Friday night, stopping about an hour from site for sleep. Got to site at a reasonable time and got set up. Managed to get completely dressed and hair done before procession, yay me. It's harder doing period hair now that mine is shorter than it used to be. I managed, though by the end of the day I was a bit dishevelled. Oh well. Anyway, got lots of compliments on my outfit, which was really nice. My sweetie fought for my honor on the tournament field, and while he did not do as well as he had hoped, he made me proud. I did some judging for the A&S competition, including the Italian garb category that I sponsored. Had two really nice entries and got a chance to do some Italian geeking with cool people. Always fun!

We managed to get the dayshade down and everything packed up before the worst of the weather hit. We were en route to the Golden Corral in a long caravan when the heavens opened up and the hail made its appearance. I am so glad we were not still on site. I think tornados are cool but I have no desire to see one up close and personal. Anyway, we crashed with Nikulai Saturday night and then had lunch with him, Nia, LuciaB, Byram and Kimmie on Sunday. We had a lovely time and I wish we'd had longer. But we eventually hit the road to home.

The week has passed along in pretty good fashion. Thursday we had a little date night and went to dinner and a movie. Dinner was pretty good except that I think we pissed off the waiter by not presenting our coupon early enough. Oh well... I had a Mediterranean pizza which was quite yummy (just polished off the leftovers). Then we went to see X-men 2, which was great! Fun movie, lots of special effects, couple of new characters, much action. Nightcrawler was the bomb. If you liked the first X-men movie, you'll like this one too.

Last night we went to Gen & Alan's for the first barbecue of the season. The weather wasn't cooperating much, but Alan was undaunted and the grilling occurred as planned. It was great to see folks, had lovely chat time with many friends. Stayed up too late but definitely worth it. I got to wear the vintage shoes that Bonnie gave me. They'd only been worn maybe once - Laura says they're from the '60s. Fortunately the soles are a little more scuffed now, at first I was afraid I'd go sailing across the carpet and fall on my butt.

Today I got some errands done and did a second Meet the Teachers demo at Michaels. This one was at the Reston store, and I was afraid it would be kind of lame because they don't seem to promote classes there very much. But it actually went pretty well, lots of people walked by and expressed interest in the classes. There were five other instructors, all doing cool stuff. I met one lady who does beaded jewelry (right up your alley, Liz - except your stuff is nicer) and one who does stamping and embossed cards. We were all joking about taking each other's classes.

This has been a pretty good week - some of you know about that, but it's Kevin's news to tell so I'll let him catch everybody up.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland