Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Busted

Wednesday, Apr. 30, 2003
11:20 AM

It's been a mixed week so far - some good stuff, some not so good stuff.

The right side of my jaw is feeling better - the swelling has gone down and it doesn't hurt anymore. I'm continuing to take the antibiotics, though fortunately the dose has been cut so I'm not feeling out of sorts like I was last weekend. I went to the oral surgeon on Monday to have the drain removed, which hurt for a few minutes but subsided pretty quickly.

Unfortunately, now the left side of my jaw hurts. There's no swelling, but I'm afraid there might be a similar complication. I'm going back for a followup on Friday (for the right side) so I'll have Dr. B take a look at the left side. I hope it won't require a drain there, but we'll have to see. I would think that the antibiotics would keep any emerging infection in check, but who knows.


I didn't get the job I applied for at the Herndon Community Center. I think there were a ton of applicants, so I had a lot of competition. I got a letter from the Town basically saying they gave the position to somebody else, but there was a nice little handwritten note from the guy I interviewed with, thanking me for coming in and saying it was a tough decision. That was nice and helped keep me from taking the rejection too personally. I'm not too sure where to go from here, though - I'm debating about whether I should look for another job or keep working on the mosaic thing, which is slow right now.


I think I may have lost my mind - I signed up to teach two classes at Pennsic. (We are working on the assumption that we will be able to go this year - that could change depending on finances, etc...) I haven't taught in a while, having missed out on the last two Universities, but I get nervous just teaching in front of people I more or less know - I'm probably going to have a meltdown trying to talk in front of mostly total strangers. Would anyone out there be willing to sit through a dry run? Or even better, go to the class with me so I have someone there I know? I'm teaching Daily Life in Quattrocento Florence and Clothing in Quattrocento Florence. I'm really psyched about teaching these, though I have a bit more research to do on the first one, and I plan to start putting together the handouts really soon, so I have months to work on them.

My current project, which shouldn't take long (I hope not, I plan to wear it on Saturday!) is an Italian coif, or cuffia. I'm basing mine off a portrait bust by Verrochio, which is in the National Gallery in DC. I think I have the pattern just about right, now to put it all together and see how it looks. Eventually I want to do several of them with different variations, especially this one of the lady in red.

I really dig the beadwork on the cuffia and veil. This means that I need to learn how to do bead embroidery - just what I need, another hobby. Sadly, I really have this jonesing to start beading stuff, at least to learn enough so that I can make that cuffia! That would be super spiff. I guess I should finish a few other projects on my plate first. Sigh. Anyway, I'm collecting pictures of cuffie, to the eventual end of teaching a class on it, probably at University in October.

On a related note, I finally found two of my books that had been MIA since we moved, last July. One was a notebook with my photocopies of Jaqueline Herald's Dress in Renaissance Italy 1400-1500 and Elizabeth Birbari's Dress in Italian Painting 1460-1500. The other was my book on the Chapel of the Magi in the Medici-Riccardi Palace, with the frescoes by Benozzo Gozzoli. I was actually in greater need of the Herald, but the Gozzoli book is irreplaceable. I got it in Florence, it wasn't cheap and it has some of the most amazing close up detail pictures of the frescoes. Closer up than you can get in person, actually. It's in Italian, and someday I hope to learn enough to translate it. Anyway, I went excavating in the basement for a couple of hours, opening every single box, sifting through all kinds of crap, until I found them. Yay! There are few things more annoying (to me, anyway) than looking for a missing book (or two). My research can continue...


Secret Agent Dog has been busted. I can't believe it took his owners this long to figure out that he'd been getting out of the yard - Kevin and I have known for months. But they finally figured it out, and now he's got a line running through the yard that they clip his leash to. Last week I heard a bit of a ruckus out there around 8:30 am, and then saw Secret Agent Dog streak through our yard, followed closely by The Man, who was yelling at him and chasing him around. Kind of funny from my point of view, but The Man didn't seem amused. Now Secret Agent Dog is leashed and isn't happy about it. He keeps running back and forth, testing the limits of the line and barking a lot. He must have passed on his mission though, because a couple of days ago Kevin saw Lookout Dog - yep - in our yard. I'm really not sure how he got out - he's way too big to get under the fence - but he managed somehow. We're still watching, but this may be the end of the Secret Agent Dog missions.


ProfileDiaryland