Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Whew, glad the interview's over

Wednesday, Apr. 23, 2003
9:55 AM

The interview yesterday went reasonably well. The job I've applied for is a recreation assistant at the Herndon Community Center. Essentially I would be working one of the desks at the HCC, answering phones, signing people up for classes, stuff like that. The most fun part would be putting together birthday party packages for kids - ordering cakes, stuffing goodie bags, things like that. How fun would that be?! It also pays more than I would have thought and has full benefits. Anyway, I met with the center manager and building supervisor. Both seemed like nice guys, and I think the interview went pretty well. Mostly standard interview questions, though they tried to throw me for a loop at the end. They asked, "If you could be any animal, what would you be and why?" I hate those type of bullshit questions - they are designed to throw you off and see how you handle the stress. I said a horse, because I had horseback riding lessons as a child and had good memories associated with that. You know, and horses are intelligent and beautiful and all that... I don't think I sounded like a total idiot so I probably did OK. They had a bunch of other people to interview so they'll be reviewing everything this week and should be calling at the beginning of next week.


Last weekend was a good one. We had planned a work day to crank out some Glastonbury chairs down at my dad's workshop. Kev and I headed down to my folks' place Saturday morning, while Rich and Genie stopped at the lumberyard to pick up wood and then came on down to Lovingston to meet us. My mom promptly fed us all lunch, which included the only cole slaw that I consider good enough to actually eat.

After that we got to work on the chairs. My dad had some quarter-sawn oak just lying around that he gave to me and Kevin for our chairs. They'll be a little heavier but damn they'll look good! The boys got to work on joining and planing the boards while Genie and I got out our brains and started figuring out what dimensions we needed. We got most of our pieces cut out that afternoon and worked until dinner.

Dinner was lovely and leisurely, afterwards we just sort of hung around and chatted (there's not a whole lot else to do in Lovingston on a Saturday night). I think we kept my parents pretty well amused with funny stories. Then we all pretty much crashed.

Sunday morning, Kevin went to church for Easter, though unfortunately it turned out to just be a prayer service with no Communion. The bigger service was at 11:00 in Massies Mill, which would have put a rather large hole in the middle of his day. Sorry about that, bear. Genie made us all Easter baskets filled with sugary goodness, thus keeping us all on a chocolate high for most of the day. We got back to work on the chairs, worked for a while until lunch, took a break for another yummy meal, and then back to work.

We got the chairs mostly finished, though not quite. The seats and backs required some assembly, and I think my dad was being pickier about the fit than we would have been. But we're going to have some kick-ass chairs! We just have a couple things left to do on them (including sanding and finishing) and then they'll all be done. I'm probably going back to my parents' place this weekend to try installing their backsplash again, so we'll finish up the last few things and I'll bring the chair parts back up to NoVA with me.


That's about it from here - I have projects to work on as usual... Thinking about what needs to be done for Crown and beyond. Life is going to change if I get the job, but it won't be a bad thing. I'll just have to concentrate my efforts a little more on my extracurricular projects. I might actually get more done. ;-)

Have a good day all! Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland