Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

I slack, therefore I am

Thursday, Feb. 20, 2003
7:58 PM

Whew, where has the week gone? I have gotten remarkably little done this week despite being home and mostly snowed in. I hate admitting that, because I prefer being able to say I was productive and got fifty million things done. It's tough to get motivated though, when the snow is piled up outside and I have email to go through and books to read and the internet to surf. I also don't have any projects with a deadline. I work much better with a deadline - SCA projects, work projects, whatever. Otherwise I always think, there's more time to get [whatever] done. I don't have to worry about that right now. I'm such a slug sometimes.


Last weekend was a lovely time spent in the company of many good friends. Kevin and I drove down to Richmond with Shannon, and stayed up far too late talking to folks (thus setting a pattern for the rest of the weekend). Saturday was fun - we had a ton of folks in the house working on various stuff. I stepped in to help folks when Kirsten was busy, just some basic stuff with sewing and serging and fabric stuff. I worked on getting more people hooked on the wonders of Italian costuming. I took Susie and David fabric shopping (always fun to pick out fabric for other people to buy!) - it was raining when we left and sleeting when we got back.

This weather pattern continued, as we all know by now. Sunday was our original departure time, but when we got up, there were a couple of inches of this sleet/ice/snow mix on the ground and still coming down. We decided to stay the night (with friends and movies and good food - gee, twist our arms) and see how things were in the morning. I had to re-schedule my follow-up appointment with my oral surgeon, which didn't matter because they were closed on Monday anyway. I'm going tomorrow morning, making my 7-10 day follow-up a 16 day follow-up instead.


Monday we decided things were clear enough for us to try heading home. As far as we knew Kevin still had to work at 3:00 so we packed up and starting digging out the van. We had a small adventure getting up the hill outside Mike and Kirsten's house, took a few attempts, a running start and a shove from Kevin, but we did make it up eventually. No issues on I95 on the way home, just slow and steady with a stop for lunch on the way. Our street didn't look like it had seen a plow yet when we got home but our neighbor was out on his lawn tractor with the plow attachment, working on the sidewalks in our neighborhood. He'd already plowed our pipestem and part of our driveway.

I gotta say, Carter is the bomb! The tractor later got a hole in the hydraulic hose so he was done for the day, but he got it fixed the next day and then came back to finish our driveway. Then he plowed our front walk! We need to bake him something or... something.


That has been about all the exciting stuff for this week. I talked to my grandmother on Tuesday - it was her 85th birthday. I hadn't talked to her for a while and I think she was happy to hear from me. She's pretty excited about her second great-grandchild (my niece!) on the way - it won't be long now. My sister's due on Monday. I just talked to her on the phone and she's completely ready for the baby to arrive.


Can I just say that olives are the food of the gods? I prefer black ones in things (sauces, etc) but green ones are great for just popping. They're good on pizza too - Kevin thought I was a freak the first time I put green olives on pizza, but I have won him over to the dark side. Olives are such a great, simple, earthy food - I could make a meal out of olives, cheese, bread and wine. Yum.


I have to finish cleaning the house tomorrow - Alejandro and Brianna are crashing with us for the weekend. See? It's a deadline - I have motivation now. It'll all get done.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland