Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Happy New Year

Friday, Jan. 03, 2003
12:01 PM

Well, we had a lovely New Year holiday, spent with friends and each other. Went to Shane and Gina's party on New Year's Eve, had a great time hanging out with folks, drinking, eating, being merry, all that good stuff. It was really nice to see folks that we haven't seen in a while and spend some time with our friends. Stayed up too late but you're supposed to do that and sleeping in is good too. Slept til 10:00 or 11:00 on New Year's Day - not sure which because I woke up as the power went out for a minute. Very strange and disorienting.

We had a lazy morning but we did accomplish the unearthing of the Bowflex in the basement and got it set up to actually use. I have resolved to use it for at least ten minutes a day, working up to at least twenty - mostly rowing, but possibly some other exercises as well. I want to get more exercise in but I am much less likely to do so when the weather is bad - walking is my preferred form of exercise. Losing weight is one of my goals for this year - I've gained back pretty much everything I lost when I was on Weight Watchers and that sucks. I'd like to go back to WW but I can't afford it right now, so I'm just trying to be more mindful of what I'm eating, do more exercise and drink more water.

I have a couple more resolutions, but that's one of the big ones. The others are more like goals, since I'm likely to do them anyway, I just need something to aim for. I have several big mosaic projects I'd like to do, some sewing projects, etc. One house goal is to get the basement cleaned up - boxes gone through, unpacked or thrown away. We set a deadline of the beginning of July to have this done - that will be a year from the time we moved in. I think that's pretty reasonable, and hopefully we won't wait until the last week in June to get started.

Anyway, in the afternoon we went over to Mike and Liz's for brunch and socializing (can you still call it brunch if it's 3:00 in the afternoon?). Chatted with various folks for a bit, witnessed the great jigsaw puzzle adventure. Headed home late afternoon with the intention of getting stuff done on various 12th Night projects, but stopped by Jason & Shannon's "just for a minute." Yeah, right. Five hours later...

We had a lovely time there, too. Sue and the boys were up visiting Mike so there were lots of friends to hang out with and babies to play with. Kevin made dinner, I played with Marcus and Regan, watched Zack run around at an exhausting rate (exhausting for me, anyway) and had a grand time. After dinner the kids went to bed and we played a rousing game of Uno.

Yesterday was spent working on projects. I have a ton of stuff to get done for Twelfth Night - I won't run down the whole list because it will just depress me. But fortunately, I'm working through it at a pretty good rate and I think I'll be able to finish most of the stuff. What I don't get to will not ruin everything and I can do it later. I expect to be able to finish the things I'm working on for other people, then Kevin's outfit, at least most of the parts. I'd like to be able to make him new hosen to go with it, but I may only have time to repair his old ones. But that will be fine too.

I have a dentist's appointment on Monday. I haven't been to the dentist in... well, way too long. So I'm a little nervous about it - the last dentist I went to was convinced that my wisdom teeth were about to promptly sprout out of my head and that she should just yank them out right then and there. My wisdom teeth are just now starting to come in, and that was, well, a long time ago. I really just need a checkup and cleaning right now - hopefully I don't need any other major work because I can't afford that right now either. But you know, I really just hate going to the dentist. I hope it doesn't hurt.

Well, that's about it... I should get back to the sweatshop - er, sewing room.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland