Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Thanks for all the fish

Tuesday, Nov. 26, 2002
7:34 PM

Well, I got my mosaic mojo back, finally... that's why I haven't updated in a while, I've been mosaicking my ass off. I'm doing the holiday craft show in Herndon next Sunday and I've just been cranking out stock for it. I'm not nervous at all about this one like I was about the one in October - maybe because I have more stock, maybe because I have a better idea of what to expect. So I've been busy with that and other stuff around the house.

Actually, I really wasn't updating my diary because I didn't have that much to say. I hate it when I bore myself - I really don't want to bore anybody else. So, random bits and pieces that hopefully won't make anyone fall asleep and start drooling. But hey, it's your keyboard.


We seem to be having plumbing issues in the house - maybe not serious ones, but I'm paranoid. The tub is draining slow, so I wind up with water up to my ankles when I'm showering. Need to pour some drain opener in it. The powder room toilet got clogged, then immediately afterwards I noticed a pipe in the basement dripping. Coincidence? Probably not. Don't know what exactly the issue is but hopefully it won't be repeated. Then this morning I found water standing in the bottom of the dishwasher. Couldn't tell you why it didn't drain, but we sucked it out with the wet vac and then ran a load of dishes and it was fine. I know precisely squat about plumbing so all this could be nothing to worry about or it could mean our house is about to be flooded. Yippee.


I got this quote from an email list I'm on: "It doesn't matter if I get this $%#&^(%^$ dress done for Coronation. It will still be at least 500 years out of fashion when I DO get it done." I am trying to bear this in mind when I find my plate is too full.


Kevin and I are going to my aunt and uncle's place in Charlottesville for Thanksgiving. My family has gone to Aunt Louise and Uncle Earl's for this holiday as long as I can remember, though when I was little they lived in Arlington. They are very cool people and I always look forward to seeing them.


"The stupid helmet? Why do I have to wear the stupid helmet?"

"Because you're stupid!"


Sorry for the non sequitur. As I was saying, Thanksgiving should be fun. My uncle (defying the stereotypes of someone named "Earl") is a very intelligent, witty kind of guy. He's a law professor at UVa and is a medieval history buff. He shares my conviction that Richard III was framed.

And Thanksgiving is always fun when my birthday falls on it. Candles in pumpkin pie!


I'm thankful for a lot of things. It's sometimes easy to lose sight of that, with money being tight and not having things like health insurance, but really, we have everything we really need. We have clothes, a roof over our heads and food to eat. I'm working on my dream and not having to work as an office drudge. I have Kevin, the light of my heart. We have many, many good friends and our families. I am very thankful for all these things. It is impossible to feel deprived or needy in light of all that.


I shall leave you with one last thought. Yes, I may be a total mosaic geek, but I am not so far gone yet. I am not going to mosaic my car.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland