Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Rainy Day Stuff

Thursday, Aug. 29, 2002
1:04 PM

I have been pretty much an absolute slacker this week. I have several mosaic projects going that I really need to work on, but somehow I haven't made much progress. I've gotten other things done, but they've been distractions, mostly. I really need to keep working, to get stuff ready to sell, to find opportunities to sell stuff... need to get some money coming in, even if it's not much. A little is better than none.


I didn't really mean to start off on a negative note. Just things that are on my mind today.


I've gotten a few more things done around the house. Pennsic laundry is done - well, most of it was done a while ago, but there were the last two loads of random garb bits. Most of the books are unpacked, thus causing us to discover that we needed another bookcase (what a shock). So we went to IKEA out in Potomac Mills the other day - this is the first time we've been to the newer, bigger version. We ended up getting two bookcases, which will undoubtedly get put to good use. The extra one also ought to leave us enough room to keep expanding without needing a third for a while.


We now have a zillion empty boxes in the front hallway. Anyone need liquor boxes? They're small so they're good for books.


I also picked up a bunch of cheap stuff at IKEA to mosaic. A nice clear glass vase for $2, some square mirrors with plain wooden frames for $2 each, and a couple of wooden key cabinets, $4 each. Saw lots of other possibilities as well, will definitely have to keep IKEA in mind for future projects.


In other news, it seems I'm going to be an aunt in February sometime. My sister is expecting her first baby. This is very cool (and my mother is way excited about being a grandma) but it's still a little hard for me to wrap my brain around. My sister has never seemed like the "mom" type to me, though I'm sure she'll be a good mother. See, my sister's always been very cool and sophisticated - I've always been the geeky one. I'm also not sure if she has any clue yet what parenthood is really going to be like, but she'll figure it out pretty fast I guess! Don't know yet whether I'm going to have a niece or nephew, they will know somewhere around the middle/end of September. Either way, I'm going to spoil that kid rotten. =)


The new issue of Cooking Light is sitting next to me on the couch, and the cookies on the cover are staring at me. Maybe this weekend I will do some baking.


ProfileDiaryland